Handmade Network»Forums
Astromop
4 posts
C vs. C++ vs. C# (Beginner)
Edited by Astromop on
Hi everyone, I am a new game developer working with Unity3D and C# to learn the basics. I am currently working on a basic 2D game. Although it has been a short while since I started, I have already run into many organization issues that have led me to begin learning more about software architecture and design patterns.

In order to do this right (dive deep enough into these topics to become an expert at them), I know I need to spend a substantial amount of time and dedication practicing. Due to this time cost, I want to focus on a single language now, which I can master over time, so as to set myself up for success in the future.

I know that Casey programs in C, I know that C# is widely used in gaming, and I know that C++ is as well. Being that my goal is become an expert in a specific language and game programming in general, what language should I choose? Is it relevant to code in C today as a game programmer? If you were in my position, what language would you choose? Is there another language besides the ones I mentioned that are worth considering?

**It might be worth noting that after learning the basics, I plan to build game-specific engines for whatever games I decide to make (Although I'm not ruling out the use of some libraries etc.).

Thank you in advance for any responses.
Mikael Johansson
99 posts / 1 project
It depends on what you like to focus on. If you prefer to learn api:s and get things built quick, and let other people focus on the low level stuff, then C# may be your cup of tea.
If you want to learn how things work on a lower level, and be able to make ypur own api:s, then go for C or C++.
Choose the one that keeps you motivated.
Astromop
4 posts
Thanks for the response!
Oliver Marsh
193 posts / 1 project
Olster1.github.io
Edited by Oliver Marsh on