Handmade Network»Forums»Work-in-Progress
Trevor Nagel
5 posts
Self taught game developer. Author of Lamorna Engine. C++, SIMD, software rendering. Lover of hot breakfasts.
Lamorna Engine - lite 3D game engine with software renderer
Edited by Trevor Nagel on
Hi guys, first post here, but I’ve been around the network for awhile, watching Handmade Hero et al. and keeping an eye on the various featured projects. I’d like to share what I’ve been working on, a lite handmade 3D game engine, featuring a robust software renderer. I’m self taught, and wrote the game systems myself from scratch. I have a website for my work, with a playable demo here. On the website is a bunch of posts talking about the different components. Please check out the demo, read the posts, hopefully they are informative, I’d love to get some feedback, answer any questions and share what I know. The engine features at a glance:

• Robust software renderer: HD, sort-middle binning architecture, hierarchical tiled rasteriser, vectorised, threaded, hierarchical z buffer, deferred attribute fetch & shading.
  • Simple shading scheme: interpolated 3 channel colour and point sampled mip-mapped texture pass.
  • Simple axis aligned collision scheme, accelerated with a loose grid BVH
  • Spatial sound
  • Job system: Frame is characterised as jobs fed into custom thread pool, performance critical sections highly parallelised
  • Dynamic lightmaps: low resolution textures on world surfaces accumulate colour from light sources for ‘painting’ effect

Thanks for your time!
23 posts
This looks really good, especially with the painting on the floor while running around. So from what I understand your engine runs at 60 fps currently, or is that just for vsync and the fps is actually higher? What are your next plans?
Trevor Nagel
5 posts
Self taught game developer. Author of Lamorna Engine. C++, SIMD, software rendering. Lover of hot breakfasts.