Handmade Network»Forums
1 posts
Game Design in Games Programming
Edited by Square on
Hi, I'm a Games Designer/Developer and I'm most intruiged and impressed by your project.

As a coding orientated website and the project itself it looks very inspiring. I am familiar with your direction, aims and goals. The forum and website software has a great feel to it.

However, I'm aware elements of Design are missing in Games, as a whole. I'm not the only one who represents a wave of people who would like to see more Design related awareness amongst developers - particuarly Indie Developers. I'm of the belief that Design should be taught (even if alongside) in most, if not all Games related degrees and courses.

I'm not going against anything on this website - I'm bringing the point that Design is mainstay in the lifetime of a Games project. I had that nailed into me at university and I am very glad to have this perspective.

What is elemental about anything someone can create? You must design it after all.

Think interactivity as a whole, rather than code this, paint that. I'm not just pointing at Coders, it's the same for an Illustrator, a Story writer, a 3d Modeller/Animator.

The computer science aspect is thriving here in a positive way and it's great you want to share and teach. Though I'm worried the website subject matter is extremely biased towards just the programming. What do you guys think?
jon
Jonathan Blow
20 posts
Design is very important but it is way too easy for designers to be talking out their ass, so I am not sure what the solution is.

Almost every software "designer" I have ever seen is bad at what they do.
Justin Ayala
6 posts
A student at Sonoma State University.
As a current student, what is a valid way to parse good design recommendations from bad ones? I'm constantly at war with what the professors tell me and what seems to be a cleaner focus here in the HandMade forums.

Does this all come with time?
jon
Jonathan Blow
20 posts