Handmade Network»Forums
3 posts
Need help badly redirecting input and output from command line on Windows
INTRO(SKIP ME) I'm a very new programmer and have been following Handmade Hero avidly for a few months. I'm writing a very simple timer utility, called from the command line, that can be used to benchmark batch files or small console executables. I wanted to give myself a challenge, so in keeping with the handmade spirit I wrote the thing without the C standard library (thanks Martinš Možeiko!). It turned out to be very difficult for me because I had to print PerfCount / PerfFreq. This involved weeks of trying to wrap my head around the algorithms for precisely printing floating point numbers (still an unsolved problem surprisingly enough!). I eventually just hacked it by multiplying the numerator by 100000000000 or so and using 128 bit integer division.

IMPORTANT PART
I would like the program to be able to redirect input and output for both
parent and child processes. For example,
timer "text.exe > test_output.txt" > timer_output.txt
should measure the time it takes for test.exe to output its data to test_output.txt and print that time measurement to timer_output.txt.

I managed to get the child process redirection working: remove the surrounding quotes, and pass it to CreateProcess in the lpCommandLine field. For example,
CommandLine = "timer \"text.exe > test_output.txt\" > timer_output.txt";
ToBeRun = "text.exe > test_output.txt";
if(!CreateProcess("C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\cmd.exe", // Module name
                  ToBeRun,     // Command line
                  NULL,        // Process handle not inheritable
                  NULL,        // Thread handle not inheritable
                  FALSE,       // Set handle inheritance to FALSE
                  0,           // No creation flags
                  NULL,        // Use parent's environment block
                  NULL,        // Use parent's starting directory