Handmade Network»Forums
4 posts
How to change project directory in a makefile ?
I'm reaching here for help because I have wasted couple of hours in trying to accomplish this very simple thing.
Here is my makefile:
(ctags -R * - This line is because I use Vim editor)
cflags=-Od -MTd -nologo -fp:fast -fp:except- -Gm- -GR- -EHa- -EHsc -Zo -Oi -WX -W4 -wd4100 -wd4189 -wd4201 -wd4505 -wd4127 -FC -Zi
cvars=-D_CRT_SECURE_NO_WARNINGS -DFROMNOTHINGS_DEBUG=1 -DFROMNOTHINGS_COMPATIBILITY=0
link=-incremental:no -opt:ref
conlibs=user32.lib gdi32.lib opengl32.lib zlibstat.lib
all:
	ctags -R *
        pushd ..\build
	cl $(cflags) $(cvars) ..\code\win32_fromnothings.cpp /link $(link) $(conlibs)
        popd

It is very much the same as Casey's but there is one problem... How do I tell nmake to change project's directory?
In other words what I mean is how to 'pushd' and 'popd' as in Casey's bat file...
(And by the way I am new to nmake syntax.)

Appreciate your help!
Alex Baines
44 posts / 2 projects
Edited by Alex Baines on
Hi, I'm more used to GNU make, but I think something like this should work for nmake:

cflags=-Od -MTd -nologo -fp:fast -fp:except- -Gm- -GR- -EHa- -EHsc -Zo -Oi -WX -W4 -wd4100 -wd4189 -wd4201 -wd4505 -wd4127 -FC -Zi
cvars=-D_CRT_SECURE_NO_WARNINGS -DFROMNOTHINGS_DEBUG=1 -DFROMNOTHINGS_COMPATIBILITY=0
link=-incremental:no -opt:ref
conlibs=user32.lib gdi32.lib opengl32.lib zlibstat.lib

..\build\win32_fromnothings.exe: ..\code\*.cpp ..\code\*.h
	ctags -R *
	cl.exe $(cflags) $(cvars) ..\code\win32_fromnothings.cpp /link $(link) $(conlibs) /F $@

Basically, the target name "..\build\win32_fromnothings.exe" is the path to the file you want to be created. The file(s) after the colon are the files that the target depends on, in this case the all the .cpp and .h files in "..\code".