Handmade Network»Forums
3 posts
Help learning ASM and understanding the CPU
Would anyone like to share some advice and/or resources for learning assembly language?
Am I correct in assuming that learning ASM is the best way to (as a programmer) build my mental model of what the CPU actually does?

I'm a completely self-taught programmer with no IRL friends that program. I'm quite comfortable with C, have written some non-trivial software, and agree through experience with much of the handmade ideology. Coming from higher-level languages (python, et al), I've wasted a lot of time reading terrible books. I would like to escape the trap of thinking about programming problems in terms of language constructs.
Tristan Dannenberg
16 posts
Edited by Tristan Dannenberg on
Personally, I learned programming in assembly language quite early - about two years after I started programming in general - and I don't feel like I really understood what CPUs do, or what a clock cycle even is, until going deeper to the electrical engineering level.

Ben Eater's video series on building an 8-bit breadboard computer really helped, however. You don't really have to understand every single thing in there - I blanked out on most of the actual electronics he does, too - but looking at data moving between modules as the clock ticks was invaluable, I think.

This just sets up the basis for learning the higher level constructs in modern chips, though. From there you can go on to learn about pipelining and branch prediction. I read a very similar article about various cache designs, though I can't seem to find it anymore - sorry! Maybe someone else can help out here. (EDIT: Might have been either this or this, actually. I only skimmed those, I'm not sure they're as good as the article I actually mean).