Handmade Network»Forums
16 posts
Based in Japan. Building a fully featured music production system with a twist.
Dedicated worker threads versus a general purpose thread pool?
Edited by Kapsy on Reason: Edited for clarity.
Hi, I'm hoping someone who is more knowledgeable on multi-threading could share their thoughts here.

I was wondering what the implications were for having a set of threads dedicated to a particular task, versus a larger pool of general purpose threads that are called upon for all/any tasks?

To give an example, say I have a program with a master audio and master graphics thread, both with which I can get better performance by using sub-threads to complete their subsequent processing. What would be the implications of using a dedicated pool of worker threads just for the audio, and a separate pool just for graphics, versus a general worker pool with a combined total number of threads, for both?

I've been imagining many scenarios where there are different implications in terms of architecture, platform, cache usage, and performance requirements, but I'm only really guessing. Some solid guidance would be much appreciated.
Mārtiņš Možeiko
2561 posts / 2 projects
Edited by Mārtiņš Možeiko on
I think it all depends on exact use case and there is no generic answer to whether use one or another approach.

I could see that there two different reasons why to use threads. One is to have something always running constantly in background and it should never be interrupted. Example would be audio mixer - you don't want your pathfinding or whatever work to interrupt it. Second reason is to have small work like AI, pathfinding or similar work run in background and give you result. For this you usually don't care much how and when it runs (as long as it runs eventually).