Handmade Network»Forums
James Sral
15 posts
Web Dev (JS/Ruby) interested in low-level development. Husband. Father. Drinker of coffees and teas.
Hello (Low-Level Programming) World
Edited by James Sral on Reason: Initial post
I've been lurking on here for a bit, but I want to get serious about learning some low-level programming. I'm a web developer who does mainly Javascript and Ruby, but I've been very drawn to the Handmade philosophy. Today, though, I finally ordered my copy of Computer Systems: A Programmer's Perspective (thanks, Abner, for the recommendation!).

I'm posting here mainly to keep myself accountable to some degree. It's a bit intimidating to really jump in (as I have no formal CS training), but I think I really owe it to myself and my career. It's also great to have such a great place to ask questions (of which I will soon have many). So hello, Handmade Network. Thanks for being awesome!

P.S. Are there any other web-devs here? Any good projects you found useful? I'm also interested in Game Dev (2D), so maybe I'll attack it from that angle.
Simon Anciaux
1337 posts
Hi, and welcome.
James Sral
15 posts
Web Dev (JS/Ruby) interested in low-level development. Husband. Father. Drinker of coffees and teas.
Thanks!
Diego Marcos
1 posts
Welcome! I'm also a Web Developer and maintainer of aframe.io. Doing Web full time for 8 years and I've been missing the low level stuff. Hoping to also put something out there very soon. Really looking forward to seeing what you make. I'll bother you if I don't see any progress :)
64 posts
None
Fullstack web dev here.
Welcome.
22 posts
Nice to know there are several others!