Handmade Network»Forums
Brandon
3 posts
Pixel-exact texture mapping
Edited by Brandon on Reason: Initial post
Hi everyone,

I'd first like to take the occasion of my first post to express my gratitude towards Casey and the HMN founders and maintainers. Like many others, HMH has had a strong effect on my programming attitude, mindset, and motivation over the last roughly one year since stumbling upon it. I feel like I've learned more from Casey and lurking in this community than I have in my professional dev job, period.

Now, my question is about doing pixel-exact texture mapping. I wouldn't say I'm new to graphics programming but what I have done is certainly very limited to personal projects. I'm writing something using Vulkan right now and I'm having trouble making sense of normalized device coordinates, framebuffer coordinates, and texel coordinates based on what I've been observing. I'll start with what I understand from the Vulkan spec, though, so maybe someone can tell me if my assumptions are already wrong. All sections are referenced from the 1.1.134 spec, since that's what I've had open for a while.

• Normalized Device Coordinates: Section 25.7 says that clip coordinates are whatever was output by the shader (gl_Position for GLSL or Position for SPIR-V) and that normalized device coordinates are just derived from the usual perspective divide.
  • Framebuffer coordinates: This is a little trickier. The description of the built-in FragCoord SPIR-V decorator (section 14.6, and I believe this corresponds to gl_FragCoord) as well as the glossary state that (0, 0) is the upper left corner of the upper left pixel of the framebuffer and pixel centers are at half-integer coordinates.