Handmade Network»Forums
3 posts
Collision Detection Using GJK and a Modified EPA
Edited by Epicrelyt on Reason: Clarification
Hello, I am a highschool student and have been working on a 2D game with a friend. I have done most of the programming from scratch using only 3 STB libraries. Recently I went to rewrite the physics engine for the game as it had a few bugs and didn't scale well—I had initially written it from following Handmade Hero. Initially I was planning for the new system to use discrete collision detection with GJK and EPA. After implenting the two, I found that GJK worked fine, however I encountered a problem with EPA.

The problem was that EPA doesn't take into account the change in position of the colliding objects and only returns the closest edge. I quickly found out that this does not work if you have multiple tiles constituting a platform or floor for the player to run on. EPA would end up returning the side edge of the tile, whereas the correct edge would be the top one, this unfotunately resulted in the player falling through the floor. I read about a few solutions to this, however I thought that it should be possible to modify EPA to take into account the dP of the object.

Rather simply this leads to a modified EPA where the polygon is not expanded based on the closest edge, but instead based on whichever edge is intersecting with the dP of the object. Like EPA the algorithm would iterate on the simplex returned by GJK, meaning that the polygon must contain the origin so if the dP is treated as a ray it must intersect with an edge. A few cases were possible:

1: The dP doesn't intersect with the edge at all, this edge isn't considered
2: The dP is colinear with the edge, this edge is kept unless the dP intersects another edge
3: The dP intersects with the edge, this edge is kept and the loop searching for the edge is broken