Handmade Network»Forums
4 posts
Web developer learning game development using javascript.
Literate Programming
Edited by xyzzy on
Hi all! I am a web developer primarily, but I feel like this is the right place to talk about my literate programming tool and experiments. For those who are not aware of literate programming, it generates production code ideally and documentation from a single source. Ever since I saw this literate programming talk I have been messing with existing literate programming tools. After trying multiple tools, I ended up writing my own tool using python + sphinx + cog + markdown. I am calling it wheel. It can be used for any programming setup, and it generates html documentation using templates and preprocessors that are commonly used in web development.

Links

1. Wheel - literate programming tool with python + sphinx + cog + markdown + jinja.
2. Plannr (beta) - My App - Evernote + twitter. The Code Walkthrough. I use code generation techniques over hylang and sqlite for the backend.
3. Bitrhythm - my live coding app to make techno. Docs.

Why literate programming ? I bet each one of you has a codebase that you can no longer understand. Literate programming completely fixes this. The other solution I can think of is at the text editor level, like leo, but that doesn't have the advantage of using the web. Apart from free-from documentation - hyperlinks, TODO’s and FIXME’s can greatly enhance everyday development. You can also use cog for simple preprocessing to enable and disable simple feature flags and if you are feeling adventurous for doing code generation with python. Here's a project that uses cog for implementing reflection in C++.