Handmade Network»Forums
Luke
11 posts / 1 project
Interactive Fiction - Casey, StoryDev, and possibilities

I recently watched the interview by "The No-Frauds Club" with Casey Muratori, and he discussed at great lengths the design and implementation of interactive fiction, which got me wondering about my own project that I've been working on for almost ten years now.

It's remarkable after all this time that someone else has been deeply interested in interactive fiction as much as I, and it is incredibly refreshing to hear someone else's opinion on what interactive fiction should be and how it should be demonstrated.

I wanted to expand on this here, in part because of StoryDev (software that I wrote in C# and WinForms (go ahead, poke and prod)) which is specifically designed for interactive story writing which takes on interactive fiction in a completely different way to traditional methods, but also to post a thread which I had wrote some time ago relating to my view on interactive fiction and how it should be written.

Unfortunately, I do not have a link because I was forced to take down the website (due to finances), but I will paste it here.

Apologies in advance for the long post.

Conceptualising Interactive Story Design

Where do you begin to understand story design in a video game, with choices that all branch out and these decisions affect how the story plays out, leading to multiple outcomes and managing it?

You can't have a full hierarchy showing all the possibilities in a complex interactive story, that would be overwhelming. But you need to have an idea on designing your story using some form of hierarchy to know what to do and where to go.

There are multiple ways we could approach this.

One to Many

Imagine relationships in databases, but hierarchically illustrated. One-to-many, what I mean by that, is having one item branch out to multiple items, then those items branch out to more items.

image-2.png