Handmade Network»Forums»Career Advice
6 posts
Looking for practice project
Edited by Bouke285 on Reason: Initial post
Hello,

I'm a CS and Math student. My ultimate goal is to work in rendering and optimization, but I also want to bolster up my general programming skills. I'm trying to pick a project to work on as I study math and modern graphics libraries, something that won't be a waste of time, but that will help me to build up the confidence I need to get into the industry after school.

I've been all over the place, spending a lot of time studying theory and focusing on my course work, but I want to get back into day-to-day programming and am looking for a good project idea.

Last year, I spent a couple of months working on a UNIX ascii roguelike game/editor (nowhere near finished), but I don't know if this is the best place to spend my time right now? https://github.com/Oltman-B/RogueFactory

Thanks!
David Butler
81 posts / 1 project
I love pretty much anything technical, whether it be programming, networking, hacking or electronics.

Working on a practice project is a great idea. I think the best way to become a better programmer is just to write code, and write code every day :P By working on real projects you will gain experience that you never knew that you needed :P

There are many people here, including me that are working on projects that you could probably talk to to see if you could help out. Specifically I know of Nakst's Essence project and Gingerbill's Odin project, If you get on the HMH discord and ask about stuff you can do, i'm sure they would have some ideas. I am personally working on an unofficially announced project, (its a Display Server for Linux, as part of an effort to simplify the Linux desktop) and its certainly more work than I alone can do so if you're looking to help out, let me know...