Handmade Network»Forums
Barret Gaylor
31 posts
I am a game designer who recently became interested in coding in a handmade way. I am not that experienced, but I want to learn.
Fighting Game Lighting System
I am currently working on Handmade Fighter, and I am now trying to figure out the lighting system for my software renderer (will convert to openGL later like Handmade Hero). I am using the lighting Skullgirls as a initial goal to reach since it is one of the few 2D (art) fighting games that looks really good. Examples:

I was wondering if anyone was willing to give me a some ideas on where to start with this. I will most again in this thread if I come up with ideas on my own. Thank you for any assistance.
Felix Klinge
6 posts
Software Developer at Deck13 Interactive. Currently working on "The Surge". In the past I worked on "Anno2205" and "Lords of the Fallen".
I wouldn't really say that a 2D fighting game requires complex lighting (I could be wrong - never implemented one).
The only real effect I can make out of those screenshots are the dropshadows of the characters.

Those could be relatively easily implemented by taking the bitmap of the character, making it black (with some alpha) and skewing it.
That's basically the first thing that comes to my mind.
Nathan Day
2 posts
None

Looking at this image, it looks like they might have included some normal maps for the player sprites so that the reaction to the effects being produced look a little better.
Barret Gaylor
31 posts
I am a game designer who recently became interested in coding in a handmade way. I am not that experienced, but I want to learn.
Edited by Barret Gaylor on
I am having some problems with my first pass. Here is what I am trying to do:

v2 PixInStage = CameraPInStageSpace + PixelP;

v2 PixUV = {PixInStage.x/StageSize.x, PixInStage.y/StageSize.y};

loaded_bitmap *Map = &TopMap->LOD[0];

v2 MapPixelP = {Map->Width * PixUV.x, Map->Height * PixUV.y};