Handmade Network»Forums
Luke
11 posts / 1 project
Developing the Web in a different language
Edited by Luke on Reason: Initial post
There are multiple languages out there that, in my opinion, suffer the same burdens as PHP with server-side web development, and do not resolve some of the core problems PHP has, such as forcing people to use a specific web design philosophy (MVC). I think web development should not be purely about MVC, and the arguments against using MVC are very similar to the arguments against OOP. That's not to say that certain aspects of MVC are bad, but it is understood that interconnecting models to connectors, connectors to views, and views to connectors, is complex and adds unnecessary hierarchical coding structures that can be better organised simply by having different files built for specific pages on your website.

Now, I must confess I am not an expert in any given programming language, and I am not in the position to say whether or not Web development should be developed in X way or Y way. But I think it is commonly accepted that the Web is poorly designed and has been constructed off the back of OOP, and uses event-based programming in the form of `addEventListener` which promotes excessive use of callbacks. You can't escape this unfortunately, and that is especially true for websites heavily animated like the one I am designing.

I wanted to avoid using JavaScript and PHP altogether, but not have to learn multiple other languages to design a clean, smooth-running website.