Handmade Network»Forums
Dania Rifki
3 posts
She/Her.
Handmade Unity
Edited by Dania Rifki on
Hello everyone, I'm a High School student going into College, one of their courses is game development using Unity. I was wondering if any of you have any tips to make it not completely insane with OOP. I know Mike Acton works on Unity to make it more DoD-ish, which is nice, but I fear that there might still be nonsense behind it all, are there any tips that y'all can give about this?, general or not.
Mārtiņš Možeiko
2559 posts / 2 projects
Handmade Unity
DOTS framework is for that. It is a completely different way to structure data in your Unity game. Instead of OOP classes you make small structures. And at the end everything executes in multiple threads & SIMD optimized. Note that it is pretty large investment if you want to structure your game to use DOTS.

But DOTS won't cover all, there's still plenty of regular Unity API to use. If you want to use Unity, then you'll need to use it - there's no way around it. OOP in Unity is much more sane if you are thing about OOP as in Java or in C++. In C# it is much nicer. And it's still OK if you want something ready-to-use, instead of writing your own stuff. Good thing about C# and Unity is that once you want to do something more advanced, Unity offers plenty of choice to do that easier - PInvoke with native code, GPU compute shaders, etc...
Simon Anciaux
1337 posts
Handmade Unity
Edited by Simon Anciaux on Reason: typo
My advice would be to not make every thing a game object with a monobehavior derived class. When I first used Unity, everything I created was a C# script created from the Unity ui and I never created classes that weren't derived from monobehavior. But since it's C# you can create regular classes / struct and pass them to functions instead of creating GameObjects everywhere. I don't know if it's a good thing to do in Unity and it has been a few years since I used Unity.

public struct game_state_t {