Handmade Network»Forums
14 posts
Perf Gains With Resizeable BAR Support e.g. AMD Smart Access Memory
Edited by Blu342 on
AMD Smart Access Memory claims increased performance of up to 11% in some games. I am a bit new to graphics and am unsure where this increased performance comes from. The way I understand it is that uploading of data like vertex buffers, textures, etc to the GPU is usually done via a DMA staging buffer of some sort, whereas Smart Memory let's us access all of VRAM directly as opposed to 256MB chunks. Is the 11% boost just due to increased streaming speeds e.g. being able to edit part of a buffer resident in VRAM as opposed to resending the entire thing over the PCI connection with a staging buffer? Sorry if this made little sense, I am not the most knowledgeable on GPU architecture.

I guess fundamentally the question is where does the CPU benefit in having more than 256MB of directly addressable VRAM, because atm the only thing i can think of is if you want a dynamic vertex buffer or something along those lines.
Mārtiņš Možeiko
2562 posts / 2 projects
Edited by Mārtiņš Možeiko on
My understanding is that currently Windows maps VRAM only in 256MB chunks. So if you need to access more memory, you need to do extra work (write stuff to registers) to map different part of memory. If you operate with a lot of memory, then you're spending time to adjust this base address. Mapping larger chunks, or even whole memory would eliminate this overhead. Which is called "resizable bar". AMD calls it smart access memory, just a marketing name. Using this requires support from GPU, BIOS, OS and GPU driver.