Handmade Network»Forums
Robert W. Childress
13 posts
World's most average software developer, learning low level coding for the good of the world.
DirectX 11 Text Rendering

Howdy folks,

I'm building a little game and engine heavily influenced by Casey's Handmade Hero, but swapping out the software renderer for DirectX 11. FWIW, I'm completely new to graphics programming.

I was about to start working on displaying debug text and I was planning on using the stb library to prerasterize a font and then draw each character as a 2d texture across a quad. I think that will work fine for a little debug text here and there, but is there a better solution for the final game if I end up needing a lot of dynamic (e.g., user entered) text displayed?

I figure for any large known sentences I can create a single texture in advance. But I don't know what a good strategy is for text I don't know in advance other than many draw calls. If I have hundreds of extra draw calls, I'm guessing I'll be able to handle that OK, but it also feels a little wasteful. For example, is there maybe a direct3d method of lining up a bunch of textures side-by-side on a quad for a single draw call?

(I'm aware that there is some kind of DirectWrite API, but I had read somewhere that it may have some quirks with DX11 and if I can just use Direct3D instead I think I'd prefer to do so.)

Thanks!

Robert W. Childress
13 posts
World's most average software developer, learning low level coding for the good of the world.

After thinking about it for a minute, maybe my real question is: is there a way to specify different textures for different sets of vertices in a single draw call?

For example, one approach may be that if I need to draw a bunch of letters I could:

• sort the letters by texture (all As in a group, then all Bs, etc.)
  • then, for each letter grouping:
    • populate vertex buffers and index buffers
    • Map, memcpy, and Unmap the specific texture
    • draw indexed