Handmade Network»Forums
8 posts
Interesting talk criticising OOP and the web
I thought this was an entertaining talk, quite surprising to see it come from a web conference.

1 posts
Edited by Sockpuppet on Reason: typos
My day job is working on the web and I share these frustrations (I swear as much as the guy in the video). Watching HMH has helped me avoid a lot of the really terrible stuff in web development but also means that 'voice in my head' he talks about is very loud at times.

Everybody says how open the web is but you have zero choice in the technology you use.
I've been working on svg animations recently and it feels like you're trying to sculpt a marble statue with a rubber spoon. If you ever want to loose a day of your life try rotating an svg around its center in a way that works cross-browser without any libraries.

I've written code that helps exporting svgs from Illustrator. I wonder though that by sharing it I'm just contributing to the problem.

Over the Christmas holidays I might start working on a vector renderer and accompanying format designed for use with webassembly. Interested in hearing if anyone else is working on Handmade web type projects.
Mox
32 posts
Good to see some other web developers on handmade network.