Handmade Network»Forums
Allen Webster
476 posts / 6 projects
Heyo
Windows File Handling Problems
I've been failing to solve a really basic problem for two years now.

The two main features I have been trying to get:

1. I need to maintain a set of files being edited that I can quickly query to see what is loaded and to get the buffer data structures associated. I need to be able to add and remove things from this set as the user loads files and kills buffers.

2. I need to get a notification any time one of the files in the set is edited and saved by an application other than my own.

3. I do not care if the system can tell that two different file names are the same file because of links/subst directories, but I do not want feature 1 or 2 to fail because of such a problem.

The various approaches I have taken that have all failed:

Approach 1.
At first I just stored a hash table of the loaded files, hashing them by name. In order to get file changes I used ReadDirectoryChangesW on a separate thread.

This fails because ReadDirectoryChangesW reports files by name, but that name does not necessarily match the name that was used for a key in the hash table. I set up a canonical way of representing names by making them all lower case except for the drive letter. It still failed whenever the files are loaded in a subst'ed directory, which I and many of my users use a lot.

Approach 2.
I tried getting hashes for files by combining nFileIndexHigh and nFileIndexLow to make unique identifiers for each file in the table.

This turned out to have a lot of problems. In particular the file index can change because of the way applications often save files by making a temp, deleting the original, and renaming the temp, according to some documentation out the index can change for other reasons too. So the table hashed by this method was completely unusable once the index is lost.