Handmade Network»Forums
Jack Mott
110 posts
Web Developer by day, game hobbyist by night.
Inspired by Handemade Hero, I am launching Games With Go
I will be teaching programming to beginners on stream by creating a series of small games and game related projects. I will be using the Go programming language. This will be similar to handmade hero but with smaller projects rather than one huge project, and a slower pace. It is more geared for complete beginners and kids. The early streams will likely be too basic for many people here but if you have friends or family who would be interested, let them know.

Begins January 2018

http://gameswithgo.org/
Ben Visness
109 posts / 9 projects
HMN lead.
You have my follow! I'm excited to see how this goes. Go has quickly become my programming language of choice these days.
7 posts
> I will be teaching programming to beginners on stream by creating a series of small games and game related projects. I will be using the Go programming language.

I know it's too late for you to change it now, but why did you choose a crippled language like Go instead of a more standard teaching language like Racket / Scheme?
Jack Mott
110 posts
Edited by Jack Mott on
Racket was in the running actually, which I know sounds weird because it is so different, so was F#. Ultimately I don't think it matters much, but Go's soaring popularity is one reason, the ability to work with pointer types and value types very easily for instance. Transitioning from Go to C would not be quite so strange as transitioning from Racket to C. The primitive types and how they relate to hardware is more naturally taught in Go (yes I know there is typed Racket too).

No reason we can't do a few projects in other languages though, to teach what else is out there - generics, meta programming, etc. Maybe some racket, some Rust, some Nim.