Handmade Network»Forums»Work-in-Progress
anaël seghezzi
23 posts / 1 project
CToy: interactive C programming
Edited by anaël seghezzi on
Hi all,

my name is Anaël, I'm an artist and programmer working mainly as a technical art director for animation films.
I like to publish parts of my work in open-source, I released the 3d game environment 'Maratis' 6 years ago (after a decade of work).

Recently I felt more and more dissatisfied with c++, I tented to avoid c++ libraries in favor or c ones and decided, what the hell, lets just go back to c. At the same time I was also looking for effective ways to optimise my work, and interactive programming was the best candidate.

Introducing CToy, a small interactive C environment, based on TCC (Tiny C Compiler from Fabrice Bellard):
https://github.com/anael-seghezzi/CToy

- small (around 2mb zip) and no installation required
- write standard c code interactively with any text editor
- realtime feedbacks (OpenGL-ES / OpenAL)
- helpers to compile with traditional compilers or generate project files (via shell scripts and CMake)

There is still some opened questions I didn't find answers (there is only one entry point for now 'main.c').
And I'm still working on the C standard library (it's not complete and there may be some inconsistencies with gcc or visual).
TCC code runs 1.5 to 3 times slower than optimized code (no SIMD except with ASM).

It really improved my work, specially for prototyping, maybe you will find it useful too ? What do you think ?
25 posts
None
Edited by hugo on
I don't know exactly when it would be useful, but it worked flawlessly and its very fun to play! Thanks for making it free!
Jesse
64 posts
Programmer at NASA GSFC
Reminds me of Processing.org! Thanks for sharing!
anaël seghezzi
23 posts / 1 project
hugo > tcc is actually a full c compiler, so you can do everything gcc can do.