Handmade Network»Forums
Barret Gaylor
31 posts
I am a game designer who recently became interested in coding in a handmade way. I am not that experienced, but I want to learn.
How would you make a Handmade Smart Phone?
I'm not sure if this is going to work, but I was wondering if anyone wanted to start this discussion. I recently started thinking about what a "Handmade" smart phone would look like. If we were to make a phone(both the hardware and the OS) in a handmade way, what would that phone look like? What features would you want that phone to have? What would you like to do with that phone if it existed? What benefits would the mobile industry gain from this type of phone?

-Disclaimer-
1. I am not announcing a project here. I just interested in the discussion. I am not nearly a good enough dev to do this.
2. I am probably won't contribute to this discussion due to being a beginner. I am really interested in what other people think.

Thank you for giving this a read.
Jack Mott
110 posts
Web Developer by day, game hobbyist by night.
Just a data point for discussion:

http://www.ubuntu.com/phone

If it was me, the big thing would be no centralized store for apps, no sideloading, etc.
Just works like a normal PC. Install things any way you want.
Allen Webster
476 posts / 6 projects
Heyo
I am also not a good enough dev to say anything intelligent about how you would do this at any level, but I certainly know what features I would put at the top of my list:

1. Insane battery life (modulo thirdy party apps) and a battery that can be replaced as it get's too old to hold a charge.
2. Totally open data and execution model that let's me put any file type on it, read any file type off it, and make apps that are entirely in natively compiled code.
3. Super high quality sound and large dynamic range.

I could budge on 3 but if it didn't have 1 and 2 I wouldn't even want it over just a regular phone.
Michael Cameron
31 posts