Handmade Network»Forums
Matt Hartley
23 posts
I like to program the things.
Touch typing
I have been programming for about 6 years but I have never learned to touch type properly. I can type pretty well but I have to glance at the keyboard quite often and I don't position my fingers correctly like proper touch typing.

Is it worth learning to touch type properly? Would it be a lot better in the long run? And would it be really difficult after typing incorrectly for 6 years?

Does anyone have experience learning it after already programming for a long time?

Thanks!
Bill Strong
50 posts
Touch typing
Edited by Bill Strong on Reason: Format list.
TL;DR Yes, learn to touch type, but don't learn Qwerty. Learn Colemak. (There are others, but I find Colemak to be the best option for many reasons.)

How many words per minute can you type now? Touch typists can generally ramp up to 80wpm to 130wpm, so increased productivity is one of the major reasons to touch type.

But the reason I chose to answer this is to try to convince you to change your keyboard layout before you learn to touch type. Since you are learning to touch type, switch to Colemak keyboard layout. You will save yourself a lot of wrist strain in the long run.

Colemak is designed around a few ideas.

• First it keeps common key combos the same as Qwerty, so ctrl-C and ctrl-V that you have learned from muscle memory continue to work.
  • It takes the most commonly used letters in English and places them under your fingers on the home row.
  • Fingers should travel the least distance possible
  • Most of the typing should be done on the strongest and fastest fingers
  • Typing should alternate between the hands for greater speed and comfort
  • Should be easy to learn and switch from QWERTY

• Here is a blog post from someone that was in the same situation as you, they didn't touch type, and started with Colemak. They typed at 75wpm in two months and 90wpm after 4 months.