Handmade Network»Forums
Ray
62 posts / 1 project
I like videogames/gametools development.
raylib: my C library to teach videogames programming
Hi, my name is Ray and it's my first time posting here.

Just wanted to show you raylib (www.raylib.com), a simple and easy-to-use C library to learn videogames programming.

Some years ago I started teaching videogames programming to people with artistic profile, most of them had never written a single line of code. After trying several tools, I decided to create a simple C library to teach videogames programming basis in quite raw way but making it simple enough for beginners, specially focusing on simple code structures, clear naming conventions and lot of code examples, so created raylib.

In the last 3 years project has grown quite a lot (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8T9oNfsCOs&t) and thousands of hours have been invested in the project with the feedback of more than 250 students that have learnt with it.

Despite raylib is multiplatform, I also created an easy Windows installer with a complete development environment pre-configured (and portable). Obviously, raylib is free and open source (https://github.com/raysan5/raylib).

Here it is current API (raylib 1.6): http://www.raylib.com/cheatsheet.html

Any feedback is really appreciated! :)
Ginger Bill
222 posts / 3 projects
I am ginger thus have no soul.
I can across your raylib project the other day on Reddit. I have yet to use it but I've read through the source and examples and I think I might just have to try it.

I will reply once I have had a go with it.
101 posts
Edited by pragmatic_hero on
I really like the API.

It's so refreshing to see an API without namespace prefixes, very pleasing for the eye!

Every basement programmer has his own "BobsCoolAPI_DrawText", even though name collisions are never-ever going to happen to them since they work alone with their friend Bob and both of them suffer from a severe case of Not Invented Here syndrome.