Handmade Network»Forums
Rafael Abreu
11 posts
Rust replacing C/C++?
Edited by Rafael Abreu on Reason: Initial post
I've seen some commotion about it lately. Your thoughts?
Mikael Johansson
99 posts / 1 project
Rust replacing C/C++?
No chance.

C is about being a simple language that gets out of the programmers way. C++ CAN be about that, depending how you use it. Rust is a completely different beast.
Rafael Abreu
11 posts
Rust replacing C/C++?
Ok that's good to see.

As a new programmer myself I have just started learning C/C++ so to see people saying that "it's finally being replaced" didn't fill me with joy.

So I hope to get a discussion about this here which is a community I respect so I can make a decision to stick with C/C++ or get into Rust.
Abner Coimbre
320 posts
Founder
Rust replacing C/C++?
RafaelAC
I've seen some commotion about it lately. Your thoughts?

My response depends on where you see this commotion coming from. Languages like Go, Rust, etc. have big companies promoting them through sheer PR muscle, often in ways invisible to us, for reasons entirely unrelated to your individual well-being.

The type of people who use C professionally are not going to be on Twitter passionately advocating for it. The simplicity of the language remains a necessary property for critical industries around the world. These industries are not on social media talking about programming languages either :P

That doesn't mean I'm not in favor of evolving beyond C. I'm rooting for Zig, and Odin, and so on. So is John Carmack (at least for Zig), whom I've said before is an ally of Handmade.

Our time will come.
183 posts / 1 project
Rust replacing C/C++?
If a language "replaces" c++, we might as well think of it as c+++. C will remain the binary interface language for understanding how dynamic libraries work. C++ provides abstraction with optional safety, but not fool-proof safety.