Handmade Network»Forums
Michael Spangler
4 posts
Screencasts for computer science and C programming
Edited by Michael Spangler on Reason: Initial post
Hi, all!

I wanted to get some feedback on a project idea I'm throwing around:

10-15 min screencasts for computer science topics and low-level (C) programming.

I look at screencasts focused on specific high-level languages (php, js, python) or frameworks (django, laravel, react) and they're fairly approachable for beginners.

By comparison it seems as though the resources for learning CS / C are overwhelming, not for everyone, but certainly for beginners.

The idea would be to take an absolute beginner (i.e. a person who has never written a line of code) and - through project based learning - get them to a place where they could write their own database, text editor, or web server (I'm just throwing ideas out as examples).

I know it's a large undertaking, but I think there's room in the market for this type of education platform.

As an aside, I've got a landing page setup (https://nothingworks.io) to validate the idea before I start building anything.

Cheers!

Simon Anciaux
1337 posts
In my opinion short video resources aren't good for learning. Having to search a video to find a subject you want to come back to is a pain, and than you've to wait for the video to maybe talk about what you wanted. It's harder to keep local copy or an excerpt. That said there is some value when you're a beginner to see what you need to do (in term of using the tools IDE, compiler... but those might change when a new version is out and require a different video). Having transcripts and annotations (like in handmade hero) is a big help with videos, but requires quite some time too.

Video becomes useful when you go in depth and there are a lot of moving parts that are hard to represent or keep track of in text form.