Handmade Network»Forums
Itzik Shneorson
3 posts
[Advice] GUI library for C# .NET
Edited by Itzik Shneorson on

Hey guys! I'm a long-time fan of the network, though it's my first time posting here, so I hope it's the right way to ask this sort of things.

I'm looking for a GUI library for C# .NET for a simple GUI application for a company I work for.

I have no expirience with any of the known approaches (WPF, WinForms). I was checking examples of WPF applications and it seems so complex and opionated so I hope it's not the way to go about it.

I found C# bindings for DearImGui (https://github.com/mellinoe/ImGui.NET), which, in priciple, seems to me a simple and approachable solution.

As I have no expirience at all with ImGui in general as well as with DearImGui, I have some questions:

1. Is DearImGui sufficient for end-user facing GUI, UX wise? The default skin/theme seem like more of a dev-tool GUI style. How easy it is to style and customize?
  2. Does anyone have expirience with the specific .NET bindings package? Can I rely on it for a production app?
  3. Do you guys have any other recommended library that is simple and with easy styling capabilities?

Thanks!

183 posts / 1 project
Edited by Dawoodoz on

The point of using C# is to be independent of native hardware, so the most portable solution with the least maintenance cost, would be to use the 2D draw call that comes with .NET for writing your own component system. https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet/api/system.drawing.graphics.drawimage

GUI frameworks are like sandals, easy to get started with (because of pre-made components) but eventually you grow out of them (because you need to implement your own custom components) and they just end up slowing you down (because now your custom components break style with standard components and you have to write all components to customize the behavior).