Handmade Network»Forums»Career Advice
PRITISH
3 posts
How i can begin software development if I only know c language?
Edited by PRITISH on
I am new to the field of computer. I only have the knowledge of one programming language that is c only and now I am doing the course of the algorithm . I want to begin software development, so I need the help how I can begin in this part. Is c enough for software development or I should learn some other programming language? I will be glad if you can recommend me any book or video series like the Handmade hero.
2 posts
Just a kiddo with an interest in computers and programming. Also, after lurking since the beginning of HMH, I've finally emerged :)
Yes, C/C++ is enough for software development. If you're interested in Game Development specifically, you can go through HMH. I feel that you might have a miss understanding of the C language if you have to question whether or not it's enough for software development, which may mean you should go and relearn the language. If so, I would recommend you check out the Intro to C videos from Casey, maybe pick up a book (K&R is fairly standard I believe, but I personally just learned through Handmade Hero and some good ol' elbow grease) and crack away at progressively harder programs.

If your problem is that you don't understand how to interface with the operating system, the first week or two of Handmade Hero covers a lot of that.

Hope this helped a little bit.
PRITISH
3 posts
Thanks for your suggestion Tonnah.
Can you suggest me some tutorial or book that I should follow? It will be very much helpful for me.
60 posts
None
Considering all the crap that's around here these days, actually I would guess that C is the BEST thing to learn if you want to make some serious and ill-free software, so you're on the right way.