Handmade Network»Forums
Italo
28 posts
Help handling data in a non OOP way
So, I'm still learning so this question might be dumb, but here it is:

Imagine the following code being inside main.
    // initialization
    renderer_t *renderer = create_renderer();
    world_t *world = create_world();
    enemies_t *enemies = spawn_enemies();
    player_t player;
    input_t input;

// main loop
    while(1) {

// handle events here

update_and_render(renderer, world, enemies, player, input);
    }

So, my questions are:

- As my game gets bigger, the initialization part will eventually have way more work to do, but I'm guessing the only thing I could do is to create an initialize() function that initializes all variables I need as globals, and then I could use them in the update_and_render() part. Is there another option so that not all of my initialization code is inlined inside main()?

- Also, do I have to always initialize something out of the main loop and then pass it to update_and_render() so that it can be used by my game? Or is there another way to do this?

I'm just confused as what should I put where, because right now every time I need something I'm just creating a global, and I know that will get messy as time goes on. But to me, the only other option seems to be initialize everything inside main and pass it to update_and_render().
Mārtiņš Možeiko
2561 posts / 2 projects
Edited by Mārtiņš Možeiko on
The code fragment you posted is not handling data in OOP way. Are you asking how to write code that doesn't look like your example? Or something else?

If you are worried that you'll have too many variables to pass around, you can simply put your renderer/world/enemeis/player/whatever else in one GameState structure you pass around. Exactly as Handmade Hero does.