Handmade Network»Forums
117 posts
Code hacker/developer
Still dumbfounded by bad software - Microsoft Edge
Edited by Todd on Reason: Initial post
Sometimes I am still completely dumbfounded by bad software. Long story short, I'm not a bandwagon person. Edge came out for Windows and compared to IE, I really liked it. It was faster, more secure, and something available on Windows by default and since I dont like to install too much software and bloat up my system, I used it. I'm also not really a web developer so I dont care about the web dev arguments against it.

I'm on a i7 machine with 16GB of RAM and a video card I got in 2016. For the last year or 2, Ive been using Edge as my primary brwoser and I frequent mostly 4 websites: Twitter, LinkedIn, Slack, and YouTube. When on these sites, my machine would slow down drastically and my fan would RACE. I just accepted that it was probably just crappy front-end framework garbage. Finally, it got unbearable and I was starting to think about reformatting or getting a new machine.

Then I installed an updated version of Chrome and its like I got a new system - I've not heard my fan again since and the computer performs way faster. I hadn't realized that since I pretty much always had Edge open, it was Edge that was causing all the problems. Since Microsoft forces updates, it wasnt like I was using an outdated version of Edge either.

So here I find myself dumbfounded as a software professional almost about to get a new box due to a simple software problem.