Handmade Network»Forums
Seth Archambault
15 posts
I do mobile app development in Javascript and dream of true native development. Caterpillars are most angry before they become butterflies.
Handmade Collectives around the world
Edited by Seth Archambault on Reason: Initial post
It's been a few months since I was at Handmade Seattle - and a couple of realizations are starting to solidify for me.

Right now, I work as a mobile developer, doing React Native for money. In my personal time I work on actual native development using C as a shared code base between Objective C and Java. I would much rather develop using this lower level process, but the very real critique against my method is that if I were to do this kind of thing for a client, they'd have a hard time finding other developers who could work on it after I left.

From what I see, Javascript's domination in mobile development work is justified by this argument:
"We can't hire people to solve the problem we have, so let's create a different problem that it's easier to find people to solve."

The future of the path we're on is to spend the next 5 years mastering all the trivia and bugs that come with each new version of React Native and it's myriad of unsupported dependencies, and then after year 6 when React Native is sunsetted, forget it all and relearn everything again with whatever the new React Native is. All the while supporting the current system of development which prioritizes worker-replaceability over the creation of solutions which provide some benefit for humanity.

So that's the path we're on.