Handmade Network»Forums»Career Advice
Chen
102 posts / 2 projects
Some guy trying to make some video game.
Question: How can I stand a chance when applying for jobs in the programming industry?
Edited by Chen on
Hi all. I am currently a college student in the U.S. who is about to graduate. I apply myself to learn about game engine technology and devote a lot of time and effort to work on my game (Monter). However, so far I have been rejected from every single internship I have applied for, all of which are offered by game engine companies such as Unity and Epic Games. I always thought that demonstrating my passion to learn and my programming experience by showing my personal projects would make me a good candidate when applying for jobs. But it seems like I'm deluded.

But I'm confused: if showing my passion and experience with my personal project doesn't make me a good candidate, what does? I've asked similar questions on gamedev channels, and some people answered that I should have a lot of tech demos. But isn't a game itself a combination of tech? Therefore I'm seeking guidance and advice on what I should do to be a desirable candidate.

I've also considered falling back and apply for some other programming jobs that I'm interested in, such as graphics. So I also want to ask the more generic version of the same question: how to make myself more desirable when applying to programming jobs in general? Any help would be appreciated, thank you.
23 posts
Question: How can I stand a chance when applying for jobs in the programming industry?
Greetings Chen,

Do you know who is rejecting you? As in, are you even getting passed HR? Unless HR/recruiters really understands what the team is looking for, often if you don't check enough boxes, you will be rejected. It could be something as simple as not having graduated yet, to not having any/enough work experience.