Handmade Network»Forums
8 posts
What OS is everyone using?

This thread is meant to be a fun little thing where you can rant about what your main OS is and why you like it (or hate it!) whether it be Linux, windows, macOS, etc. I’m not trying to engage in arguments over what os is the best, I just thought it would be cool to see what os everyone is using. I’ll start, before I started coding I downloaded windows 11 to get away from Cortana and the ad-bar thing on the Win 10 taskbar, I also heard good things about it from my friends regarding the UI, however now I’m thinking of switching to something like kali Linux instead because I want to become more adept with the command line and I hear it has a lot of developer friendly tools.

183 posts / 1 project

Mainly using Manjaro.

• Much faster than Windows.
  • Easier to install GPU drivers than Windows.
  • More reliable than Windows with crashes much less frequent.
  • Works better for classic Windows games no longer supported in new versions.
  • Can use the old USB devices that Windows deprecated drivers for.
  • Can learn the latest standard C++ features a decade before Windows has it. MinGW still crashes if including <filesystem> in a blank file, VisualC++ don't even try to keep up, and you don't want CLang being the only compiler available if something more breaks down.
Andreas
25 posts / 1 project

Manjaro, the Xfce variant to be exact. No particular reasoning other than I tried it and so far haven't seen any reason for switching.

Neo Ar
165 posts / 1 project
riscy.tv host

I briefly used QubesOS on my laptop some years back and I encourage people to give it a try. I switched back because I eventually wanted to screenshare

I've been thinking I should maybe try switching my work rig to Void Linux as it would make more sense for how I use that machine...

I use Arch Linux, btw

Ben Visness
109 posts / 9 projects
HMN lead.